I LOVE THE BODY SHOP!

I will confess right now I have no idea what I would do without having a Body Shop near me! I just love going in there, not necessarily to buy anything but just to try, smell and touch.

The Body Shop was founded in 1976 by Anita Roddick. In the early 1970s, Anita Roddick (then Anita Perilli) visited a shop in Berkeley, California selling naturally scented soaps and lotions called The Body Shop. The Berkeley Body Shop was run by Peggy Short and Jane Saunders and they used natural ingredients. The shop also helped to employ and train immigrant women looking for a new life in the United States.  The company now has 2,400 stores in 61 countries. The Body Shop turned increasingly toward social and environmental campaigns to promote its business in the late 1980s and one of the reasons for the success of it has been the stance of being against animal testing and the use of Fairtrade products. The chain uses its influence and profits for programmes aimed at fair labour practices, safe working environments and pay equality.

One of the many things I like about the Body Shop is their ability not to follow the rest of the cosmetic /beauty world but to make their products different enough from the rest. I first came across their products when my older sister received a present from a friend. It was a nutty Body Butter (I cannot remember which it was) but the smell was amazing, the texture on the skin was soft and gentle and it lasted all day. I must find more I thought!

Now living in the UK, I am blessed by having a store nearby to go and discover more about their products.  I first started to use their body care range, their shower gels, body butters, body lotions and now use their skin care products for everyday use. Their hand creams are really good for the UK seaside winters I have to put up with!

I now enjoy their bronzers for my fair skin as it isn’t too dark and leaves a good even tone with a hint of sparkle which I love. Their shea beautifying oil is another new product which I enjoy using, the smell is wonderful and moisturises the skin.  My latest buys include the limited edition range endorsed by Lily Cole which include primer, eye shadows, lip glosses and eyeliner.

One story which I like is that the opening of Roddick’s first shop in Brighton received early attention when the local newspaper, The Evening Argus, published an article about an undertaker with a nearby store who complained about the use of the name “The Body Shop.” Not bad for a company that was sold to L’Oreal in March 2006 for 652.3 million!

Anita Roddick passed away in 2007 and Prime Minister Gordon Brown on her death remarked  “She campaigned for green issues for many years before it became fashionable to do so and inspired millions to the cause by bringing sustainable products to a mass market. She will be remembered not only as a great campaigner but also as a great entrepreneur.”

Anita Roddick

Thank you Anita for your gift that is the Body Shop to the world.

What are your favorite products from The Body Shop?

Rxx

3 thoughts on “I LOVE THE BODY SHOP!

  1. Wow, you did well with your Body Shop haul! I am so in love with my lip/cheek dome! We don’t seem to have gotten the lip glosses or the tall cylinder of beads in Australia, do you like them!?

    Like

    • Hi. lip glosses is very nice, lovely smell and it doesn’t stay as long as Lancome or Clinque. The tall cylinder of beads is a pearl radiance primer which you have to blend into the skin for a quite a time for it to absorb into it. R

      Like

Leave a Reply

