Beauty Shopping In Latvia!

IMG_4795

IMG_4796

IMG_4799

IMG_4797

IMG_4798

IMG_4800

 

Hi Everybody,

It’s been too long since I posted on my blog but if you follow me on Instagram @revitadaktinasmith I went back to my home country of Latvia in July for 2 weeks. Unfortunately we were the victims of a break-in so we have been dealing with all that since then. They are people in this world who would rather steal the hard earned efforts of others than work for things themselves. Tears have been shed on the things we have lost but thank God no one was hurt.

It was great to relax but of course it was great to shop for beauty things made in Latvia and also to buy things one wouldn’t normally find in the UK but are available in Latvia.

In the old town of Riga, we visited a shop which it was devoted to all things honey. Organic honey, hand made pottery, hand made candles as we do love honey! It also stocked organic products so I purchased from Marleo Bio natural cosmetics aroma cranberry face scrub. It smells heavenly and you could almost eat it! Its ingredients are very interesting and includes cranberries, sea salt, amber, g butter, marigold oil, beeswax, rapsberry and orange oils.I have slapped some on and it’s not as abrasive as you might think. I also purchased from the same line, a lip balm made from cranberries and it is quite oily as it has seabuckthorn oil in it.It also has amber in it and it is a very nice lip balm.

If you visit Riga you have to go Stockmann and visit this great department store. The ground floor has all the makes from the beauty world. MAC, Chanel, Dior etc. I avoided these and went straight to the Latvian makers. BiO2you are 100% natural extracts and oils I purchased the Seabuckthorn Face Scrub. it contains Aloe Vera, Sunflower, Chamomile and of course Seabuckthorn. Madara is probably the most recognized Latvian beauty products, Gwyneth Paltrow is a big fan of their products and you can see why. Lovely quality and not that expensive. I bought the Hand Cream and the hands do feel velvety and the hands smell like marzipan!  I picked up 2 products from Organix Cosmetix, an Israeli beauty company. I haven’t tried either the day cream or the face serum but they were quite reasonable priced and they do use certified organic products so I will post a review shortly.

Stenders is Latvian’s version of The Body Shop/ Lush and you know how much I love Body Shop! I only picked up 2 things but wanted to buy everything! They have a lovely range of bath bombs and oils and also use natural ingredients in their products. I purchased the Apricot Sugar Scrub with added oat flakes, grape seed oil, sugar crystals. It is more oily than the ones you get in the UK so it moisturizes and exfoliates your skin. I also bought another Hand Cream , this time in Cranberry. It’s texture is quite velvety so it absorbs very quickly as it has shea butter in it.

Douglas are a German owned beauty shop, think Boots but smaller ranges but very high quality with brands from all over the world as well as their own ranges. I purchased from Isadora who are a Swedish company. The packaging isn’t great but I did like the quad eyeshadow (35 Pearls). They are a creamy silky feel to them, easy to blend with nice pigmentation and very little fallout from them.

I will do a more in-depth review of the products later,

Rxx

http://www.isadora.com/global/

http://www.stenders-cosmetics.com

http://www.madaracosmetics.com/en/

https://bio2you.lv/en/

http://www.b4you.co.il/products-organix.asp

http://medus-istaba-veikals-274301.infolapa.zl.lv

 

Leave a Reply

