My Best Beauty Discoveries of the Year!

img_8639

Hi Everybody,

I hope you enjoyed the festive period and are ready to celebrate the New Year.

I decided to write about my best beauty discoveries of 2016. The products are not new products on the market but new to me. I have never tried these products before but now they are part of my go-to products and how they have made a difference to me. It’s so hard to keep up with new products but when you get around to buying products that have been around for awhile, you find that they are brilliant and you think ‘how did I not discover this earlier!’

All these I have reviewed in earlier posts.

All products I purchased myself.

MAKE -UP

This year I discovered Cream Blushes as I was worried if I could work with them and if they would look good on me.  I love the two cream blushers from Rosie for Autograph ‘Natures Blush’ &  Bobbi Brown Pot rouge for lips and cheeks ‘Powder Pink’. The formula of each of them is completely different from one another. The Rosie version is more velvety and the texture blends easily to a powder finish. The Bobbi Brown is more creamy and has a sticky feel to it. The result is a natural flush to the cheeks. Both are long lasting and easy to work with and I love them.

Benefit are a hit or miss company for me. Some good products but some disappointments too. This year they released new brow products. I tried 3 samples in 3 different magazines! Ready Set, Brow setting gel keeps the brows in place. Goof Proof Brow Pencil fills in the brow with the nicely angled tip. Gimme Brow is a volumizing fiber gel which fills in the gaps in your eyebrows and gives the brows a fuller look. I was very impressed by all three. They all lasted a long time and I loved how more defined my brows looked. They looked neater and fuller when I used them. Well worth buying the full size products.

I love lip products.  NYX Butter Gloss in ‘Strawberry Cheesecake’ is a creamy, long lasting lip gloss. Lip glosses are getting better and better. Better formula and so long lasting these days. Revlon Ultra HD Lip Colour ‘Devotion’ is a non-drying matte lip colour which is long lasting and looks just fantastic on the lips.The formula is superb. Matte and Shine lip glosses are fighting for supremacy and I loved both of these.

YSL Touche Eclat Radiant Touch.  One of the most iconic products in Make-up and one of the best. Nothing to add as it is already been said by countless people! Please read my YSL Touch Eclat post from August.

HAIRCARE

One Haircare product and that goes to Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oatmilk. It really works and so gentle  on the hair and the greasiness goes away too. No sickly scent either. 100% satisfaction with me.

SKINCARE

Neal’s Yard Organic Make-up Remover is such a gentle remover of make-up. I have found that ‘natural’ products have difficulty in removing stubborn make-up sucth as mascaras. This one had no problem doing that and it also conditions your eye lashes as well. A winner in my book. I love cleansers and is one of the most important steps in skincare. Rodial’s Stem cell Cleansing Cream is a winner.  You also need a good scrub to remove dry patches and dull skin and Oskia’s Micro Exfoliating Balm does the job, 100% guaranteed. My husband loved it too! Once a week, you need to clean deep in the skin and remove the impurities and you need to use a masque. Exuviance Purifying Clay Masque has been a revelation to my skin. If you have problematic skin I can’t recommend this product enough, hugely impressed with this one.

After all the cleaning, you need to give back moisture and hydration, particular around the delicate areas around the eyes and I have been especially impressed by Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye. It gives you great hydration and helps keep these lines away! You can’t skip the serum and I have been loving the Balance Me Congested Skin Serum. Four bottles have been recycled and need to go and purchase another! It really works and keeps the breakouts under control and doesn’t dry the skin.

Two night creams, fighting for the glory of been the best but their both winners with me! Elemis Hydra-Nourish Night Cream and Garnier Miracle Sleeping Cream.  The Elemis left the skin is plumped, hydrated and re-balanced the skin. After waking up the next morning, I felt and saw the difference.  Elemis, I need a years’s supply of this stuff! The Garnier is as good in my view. My skin felt and looked hydrated, plump and with radiance. A great budget buy.

Have a Happy New Year and I hope 2017 brings lots of new products to try. Now to go sale hunting…

Rxx

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Best Beauty Discoveries of the Year!

Leave a Reply

